John S Davies Logo

Picton Castle

Posted in the Concert Reports Category

Picton Castle, Haverfordwest, December 12 2009

Christopher Williams piano/organ

In this historic Castle the music started in the organ gallery. In a couple or more items later, the place lent an ethereal glow to Darke’s In the bleak midwinter and Britten’s A Hymn to the Virgin, the latter a 13th century text sung in a castle already being built in that time. The solo soprano voices and quartet from that point added extra pleasure to the ear, as did the other solo interventions in several more of the items.

The Castle hall though small, resounded with the Singers’ brilliant sound and exulted in its equally brilliant soft singing. Christopher Williams at piano and Castle organ accompanied them, adding to the success of the presentation.

Remarks from a departing audience after an hour and quarter of continual entertainment, made it clear that the programme had delighted them and there were smiles all round. “A real start to what it’s all about”.

Solo voices

In the bleak midwinter (Darke) Sophie Davies soprano : O Holy Night (Adam) Jessica Cale soprano : Christmas Night (Holst) Jenny Pearson alto : While shepherds watched (Tate) Joy Cornock soprano : A Hymn to the Virgin (Britten) quartet Suzanne Hay, Samantha Price, Christopher Preddy. Ciaran Yeo soprano/alto/tenor/bass : We three kings (Hopkins) Arwel Davies, Jonathan Lean, Elis Griffiths tenors/bass : Whence that goodly fragrance (trad) and Ivy and Holly (Moeran) Arwel Davies tenor.